Sunday Salon

TSSbadge1My week was pretty uneventful.  I did manage to get a good amount of reading done.  I read three books, one of which I reviewed already.

 

 

Peony in Love, Lisa See

Hate List, Jennifer Brown

Unfinished Desires, Gail Godwin

I am now reading Sylvia’s Lovers, by Elizabeth Gaskell for the Classics Circuit.  I am very excited because I have wanted to read Elizabeth Gaskell for awhile now and now I have a motivator!  To be honest, I had never heard of Sylvia’s Lovers–it was assigned to me randomly, and I am guessing it will probably take me all week to finish because it looks quite long and dense.  I now need to decide what to read for the Edith Wharton circuit.  I have read four of her books but I want to read something new of hers (I am not a re-reader for the most part).  I was thinking Ethan Frome but there may be too many people choosing it.  We’ll see.

And lastly, I want to highlight a new reading event.  It is being hosted by Jenn, Jen and Beth and it is called Thankfully Reading.  You can find all the details at the book blog social club, but basically it is a low key reading event for the long weekend after Thanksgiving.    Jenn had mentioned on twitter that she planned to read a lot during the weekend after Thanksgiving and the idea just kind of blossomed from there.

Thank-300x300My boyfriend will be out of town that weekend.  Saturday morning I plan on going with my family to get Christmas trees, but other than that I will have plenty of time to read.  So count me in!  I will be keeping it VERY lowkey.  No expectations, just very relaxed.  Or that’s the idea anyway!

So now off to do chores and get into Sylvia’s Lovers.  What are your plans for today?

10 Responses

  1. I missed the deadline for Gaskell by 3 hrs. 😦

  2. What a great idea for Thanksgiving weekend! I have to work but since this event is low-key, I’m bound to join in on the fun. Thanks for sharing about it 🙂 I’ve never read anything by Gaskell but I’m planning on giving her a try at some point. Enjoy your Sunday!

  3. So glad you’ll find some time to read on that long weekend. Fun to know that others will be reading too.

  4. I haven’t ever read anything by Edith Wharton (on more gap in my education). The weekend after Thanksgiving is going to be very busy for me, so sadly I won’t be doing any leisurely reading.

  5. Will be interested to read your impressions of Sylvia’s Lovers. Not one I had heard of until recently also. The whole point of a classics circuit. So easy to get caught up in the here and now that we forget mid and back list titles including lesser known classics. Happy reading!

  6. I am also going to join this informal read-a-thon if I am going to be home during that weekend. I think it is a great idea.

  7. I love Edith Wharton. Have you read The Custom of the Country?

  8. I’m reading Ruth for the Gaskell tour. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Sylvia’s Lovers-I put together the info page, and it sounded really good! I’m trying to decide on a Wharton one to discuss too. My library has a Modern Classics edition w/ Ethan Frome, Summer, and the Bunner Sisters, so I think it might be fun to compare them all. 🙂

  9. Hooray, so glad you’re joining us!

Leave a Reply

