TSS: Slow going

TSSbadge1This week has been a bit slow for me.  Last Sunday I spent all day reading The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie.  I very rarely get the chance to read an entire book in one day, so that was awesome.  Since then, however, I have been slogging through The Woman in White, by Wilkie Collins.  Maybe slogging isn’t the right word–it has sort of a negative conotation, which isn’t my intention because I am loving this book, but it is taking me a lot longer than the typical book would to read.  I had originally hoped to have it finished by today but I have a lot to do and I have over a hundred pages left, so I am not sure it will be manageable.

6a00c225290bfe604a00fad6b0ba6b0005-500pi

I do plan on going to the bookstore today, so that should be fun!  I am meeting my family for brunch soon right next to Barnes and Noble, so although I don’t really have the funds to feed my addiction, I will at least be browsing and possibly picking up some stuff, both for myself and also Christmas gifts.  Because who doesn’t like to get books as gifts??

Last weekend I did a challenge update.  One challenge that was left out of that post was the Fall Into Reading challenge, hosted by Callapidder Days.

FIR09Medium

It is running from September 22-December 21, 2009, so we’re halfway in and I have not read even ONE book for this challenge!  Here is my list–it is definitely not too ambitious, with only five books, but there is just always something else to read!

Foxfire, Joyce Carol Oates

Black Girl, White Girl, Joyce Carol Oates

A Good Man is Hard to Find and Other Stories Stories, Flannery O’Connor

The Loved One, Evelyn Waugh

Far From the Madding Crowd, Thomas Hardy

I chose these five books because they help me fulfill my 999 challenge.  Yes, you read that right–I am participating in a challenge to try to motivate myself for another challenge!  So far, it isn’t working!  I am still hopeful that I will at least be able to make some progress before December 21, but who knows.  So far I have had no success.

So what are you up to this Sunday?  Any reading going on?

9 Responses

  1. I’m reading The Woman In White still and it is very slow going for me for the same reasons. It isn’t that I don’t like it because I do but I’m reading another book at the same time and it usually gets picked up first. I’ll be looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it when you finish though!

  2. I tried to read The Woman in White after reading Drood and I ‘slogged’ through it. It was not a good time for me to pick that one up. I will tackle it again next year. I’m so glad that you are enjoying it though. Most everyone that has read it has said good things about it.

  3. I need to re-read The Woman in White!

    Here is my Sunday Salon post!

  4. You sound like me with challenges; I’m always trying to overlap as an added motivation. But then, now that we’re at the end of the year, I’m totally slacking off on reading my challenge books.

  5. I totally agree that The Woman in White is slow, but it’s so good!! I’m getting through the Fall Into Reading Challenge as well!

  6. I haven’t read anything by Wilkie Collins, but I know sometimes with older books and classics I end up taking a lot more time reading them. Good luck with your challenges!

  7. I finished The Woman in White this week…I thought it picked up at the end. It seemed like the last 200 pages flew by. I was actually surprised by how much I liked the book.

  8. Read The Loved One years ago and absolutely loved it. Then I never picked up another Waugh. No idea why not. Probably should remedy that soon.

  9. I would think that as long as you’re making progress with Wilkie Collins, you’re still doing well, even if you haven’t actually finished anything.

Leave a Reply

