BTT: Autobiographies vs Biographies

btt2BTT is a weekly meme found here.

Which do you prefer? Biographies written about someone? Or Autobiographies written by the actual person (and/or ghost-writer)?

I don’t think I have a preference, but in searching through some of my favorites, they all tend to be autobiographies/memoirs.  There don’t seem to be any biographies at all.  Maybe I just tend to read more autobiographies than not–I don’t know.  But here are some of my favorites.

9780312202293liars_club_cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

scissorscastle-cover21

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Which do you prefer?

4 Responses

  1. I tend to read autobiographies over biographies. Some of my favorites are Valentino Achak Deng’s fictionalized memoir, What is the What, by Dave Eggers, and Sylvia Plath’s semia-autobiography, The Bell Jar.

  2. I’ve only read 2 of those – I need to check the other two out.

  3. I love them all. Autobiographies have the added benefit of really giving that person’s perspective on their own life. Biographies are more likely to give a fuller picture.

Leave a Reply

