Teaser Tuesday: The Woman in White

teasertuesdays31 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser this week is from The Woman in White, by Wilkie Collins, which I am reading for the Classics Circuit.

6a00c225290bfe604a00fad6b0ba6b0005-500piWe set our faces towards London, and walked on together in the first still hour of the new day–I, and this woman, whose name, whose character, whose story, whose objects in life, whose very presence by my side, at that moment, were fathomless mysteries to me.  It was like a dream.  Was I Walter Hartright? Was this the well-known, uneventful road, where holiday people strolled on Sundays?

-page 18

12 Responses

  1. Great teaser…great book!

  2. The cover is great too. You can lean the book on a shelf as art.

  3. I want to read this at some point!

  4. Oooh. Good teaser. I have this in audio and I really should get to it.

  5. Thanks for visiting. This was a great book.

  6. I hope you love this book. I read it not too long ago and loved it. I can’t wait to read more by Wilkie Collins!

  7. It’s a nice quote. I wish I knew what was going on there (obviously I haven’t read the book yet). 🙂

  8. How far into it are you? I’m a little over halfway and I’m surprised by how compelling the story is.

  9. I like a good mystery…and I should probably read this, as it’s a classic. Great teaser!

  10. I’ve never read Wilkie Collins, but then my focus in both my undergrad and grad work is Contemporary America Lit.

    My Teaser is HERE

Leave a Reply

