Book Review: I Know it’s Over

n311661I Know it’s Over

CK Kelly Martin

Random House

244 pages

I chose this book to kick off the read-a-thon and it did not let me down. I Know it’s Over is the story of Nick, a teenager who enjoys hanging out with his friends and spending time with his new girlfriend Sasha. Pretty quickly, the relationship turns sexual and Sasha and Nick both lose their virginity to one another. As they continue to have sex, Sasha becomes scared and withdrawn, breaking off the relationship because she can’t deal with the ramifications of sex. Nick is beside himself, but has started to move on when, on Christmas Eve, Sasha breaks the news to him that she’s pregnant. Although Sasha feels Nick has a right to know, she doesn’t want him involved at all in the decision making process and ends up isolating herself as she tries to decide what to do about the pregnancy. Nick is frightened at the prospect of being a father so young, but he makes the effort to be there for Sasha and abide by whatever decision she makes.

Sasha was somewhat of a solitary character. Her relationship with Nick was somewhat fast paced, considering that they were both virgins and only new one another as classmates until all of a sudden they were in a relationship. Sasha seemed two-dimensional, especially once she found out she was pregnant, and devoid of emotion. But, then again, Nick is the narrator and we’re only told how HE feels, so it’s possible Sasha was just as tormented about the situation as Nick and we just weren’t privy to that. I am ashamed to admit though that I empathized little with Sasha. I have no issues with the fact that she took the decision on herself and decided to do what was best for her. I was just surprised at her rigidity and unwillingness to communicate with Nick.

As for the portrayal of teenage sex and the ramifications, do I think this book was realistic? Yes. I’ve read reviews of this book that said it wasn’t realistic enough or that it did not showcase every option available to pregnant teens. That may be true. I don’t believe Sasha and Nick ever discussed adoption, nor did they seem to seriously consider having the baby. I didn’t have a problem with that though. This is one story out of many that can be told, and in this instance I think that it worked well and was still realistic. In fact, abortion can be so taboo—I find books about adoption or teenage parenthood to be more prevalent, in my experience, so it was nice to have a book that highlighted the option of abortion. ckinterview[1]

The fact that the narrator was the teenage father and not the pregnant teen herself was a nice change of pace too. We rarely ever hear from teenage fathers, and surely some of them must have something to say on the matter as well. I admit that, for me, one of the most unrealistic aspects of the book was Nick’s willingness to go along with Sasha’s decision while still being supportive. He seemed much to mature for his age, for one. I expected him to shy away from his responsibility, at least somewhat, but he was so willing to be there for Sasha and to go with whatever decision she wanted to make without voicing his own opinion. It seemed too idealistic to me.

Overall, I enjoyed I Know it’s Over. It’s great, worthwhile YA fiction.

Other reviews:

Becky’s Book Reviews

Liv’s Book Reviews

Juiciliciousss Reviews

Maw Books Blog

Book Nymph

Reader Rabbit

Reading Keeps You Sane

Teen Book Review

B is for Books

The Ya Ya Yas

Reviewer X

Finding Wonderland

Just Blinded Book Reviews

S Krishna’s Books

Wondrous Reads

Dog Eared and Well Read

Books by Their Covers

4 Responses

  1. Reviewer X loved this so much she sent me a copy…but I haven’t gotten to it yet. For shame!

  2. Sounds like an interesting book. Nick Hornby’s Slam is also from the perspective of the teenaged father and is well done.

  3. I think that most YA books that deal with teen pregnancy shy away from abortion because it’s such a controversial issue. But it’s probably the first option that at least half of the kids that find themselves in this situation consider.

  4. [...] first came on to my radar after I read I Know it’s Over during the read-a-thon this past October.  Both books have the same premise, basically–a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

