Book review: Twilight

twilight_book_coverTwilight

Stephenie Meyer

Hatchette

498 pages

Ok, so it’s time to crack down on the backlog of reviews created by the read-a-thon.  I usually try to get my reviews done ASAP but now I’ve got quite a few to do.

I fought tooth and nail against reading Twilight.  That is not an exaggeration.  I’m not sure what my problem was, because I should have figured it would be a good story, right?  Anyway, my book club chose it as this month’s book and I steadfastly refused to read it.  I guess I’m more of a book snob than I would care to admit.  Then, my best friend guilted me into reading it.  So I did.  And I enjoyed it.

As pretty much everyone knows by now, Twilight is the story of Bella Swan.  Bella has just moved to Forks, a dismal rainy place in Washington that has practically no sunlight.  I imagined it to be one of the most depressing placed on earth.  Bella is immediately captivated by Edward Cullen, whose description repeatedly portrays him as devestatingly handsome.  Edward keeps to his clique of family members: Alice, Emmett, Rosalie and Jasper.  None of the members of this clique socialize with their peers, until Edward begins to venture out with Bella.  But before this happens, he actually seems to be completely repulsed by her.  Eventually, the reader is told what was already known from the beginning–Edward is a vampire!

Ok, so I’ll admit that everything I’ve relayed above was pretty boring to me.  I read the first half of the book and could not, for the life of me, figure out what all the fuss was about.  Overall, it seemed repetative.  Edward and Bella.  Edward and Bella.  Edward and Bella.  I didn’t really find myself interested in the story until Bella met Edward’s family.  In fact, I think it’s a shame that Meyer chose to focus so much on Bella and Edward.  They were the two most boring characters in the book.  Rosalie, Emmett, Jasper, Alice, Carlisle and Esme were all much more fascinating but Meyer didn’t develop them at all, with the exception of Alice and even then I’d say the development was minimal.  I’m hoping that in the next three books, more focus and explanation is given to them.

Bella’s relationship with Charlie was also cause for concern to me.  The way she treated both her parents, actually, was aggravating.  Until the end, neither seemed to garner any respect from her.  And the fact that she referred to her father as Charlie unless he was within earshot really grated on my nerves.  I guess you could say I really just didn’t like Bella.  I respect that she was independent, but I thought she went about it the wrong way.  And I also didn’t like the way she acted around Edward.  I can see someone making concessions for the person they love, but I thought she took her relationship with Edward too far.  I think Meyer romanticized their relationship as a whole.  Do I envision Edward and Bella as an example of true3353400 love?  No way!

But despite all my issues with Twilight, I should have probably read it sooner.  It wasn’t bad and the story that Meyer tells is a good one.  My boyfriend was nice enough to buy me the three remaining books in the series and I do intend to read them at some point.  I’ll be interested to see where Meyers takes it from here–I can picture myself loving or hating the remaining books so we’ll see.

For those of you that have read the Twilight series, which book is your favorite?  Which is your least favorite?

Other reviews:

Love Vampires

Em’s Bookshelf

I’m Booking It

Today I Read

Sweet Reads

Tez Says

Book Critiques

Deliciously Clean Reads

A Book a Week

Book Dweeb

My Friend Amy

Ciara Stewart

I Smell Books

Book Review Maniac

So Many Books, So Little Time

A Library is a Hospital for the Mind

Confessions of a Bibliophile

The Medieval Bookworm

Stuff as Dreams are Made On

Reading Adventures

Devourer of Books

Please let me know if I’ve missed your review!

11 Responses

  1. I fought tooth and nail against this book, too, and only read it because a friend and I made a deal: I’d read it if she read Harry Potter. I enjoyed the first book okay, and moved on to the second. I hated it so much I’ve never read further. :/

    • I’ll be interested to see how the other books fare. I’ve heard that Bella becomes even more annoying in the second book, in which case I may have to tear my hair out!

  2. I dragged my feet on reading this series but finally broke down after watching the movie. My favorite of the books are the middle two.

  3. I felt overwhelmed by the drama, and I stopped reading after New Moon.

  4. You know, they all sort of run together by now. The first half of New Moon is SUPER obnoxious, though.

  5. […] See the original post: Book review: Twilight « ReviewsbyLola's Blog […]

  6. You feel pretty much the same way I did, I think; it’s not that it’s tedious or uninteresting reading, necessarily, but there are tons of issues with it. New Moon is actually my favorite because even though Bella whined more or less constantly, I really liked Jacob.

  7. I think maybe the first, because by the end of the series I was so over it.

    Have you seen the movie? It’s incredibly cheesy…it’s fun to watch with a friend so you can mock everything.

  8. i love all the books so much my favorite is breaking dawn coz it all happens and my least favorite is new moon because edward goes away

  9. bella tu es trop beaux aussi bella tu es trop belle

Leave a Reply

