Read-a-thon: T-39 hours!!!

6a00d8341c9ac653ef01156f3381c7970c-120wiOk, we’re really getting down to the wire here when it comes to the read-a-thon.  I think I’m pretty prepared at this point.  Or at least as prepared as I’m going to get!

There has been a slight change of plans on the home front.  My boyfriend switched weekends with his ex wife and we’re now taking his daughter next weekend instead.  This change isn’t due do the read-a-thon really but it will be beneficial to me.  Now I will have the house all to myself, at least during the day.  My boyfriend is going to a football game with his friend so he’ll be gone from pretty much the start of the read-a-thon until at least dinner time.

Meanwhile, here is my final read-a-thon list.

IMG00011-20091022-1740

From top to bottom

I Know it’s Over, CK Kelly Martin

Lessons From a Dead Girl, Jo Knowles

Goldengrove, Francine Prose

Hate List, Jennifer Brown

Betsy and Tacy Go Downtown, Maud Hart Lovelace

Why Shoot a Butler?, Georgette Heyer

Murder on the Orient Express, Agatha Christie

How I Live Now, Meg Rosoff

I Love You Beth Cooper, Larry Doyle

The Year of Magical Thinking, Joan Didion

An Abundance of Katherines, John Green

Catching Fire, Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins

I’m hoping to update my blog every 2-3 hours during the read-a-thon.  I’m thinking that hourly would be a bit much and could break my concentration, but as this is my first read-a-thon, I’m playing it by ear.

In honor of the read-a-thon, I am going to be hosting a giveaway.  The giveaway is open from now until the end of the read-a-thon and to enter all you have to do is leave a comment to this post.  I may announce the winner in my Sunday Salon wrap up post but we’ll see–I may be too tired and incoherent to do much on Sunday.

The giveaway is for the new Diary of a Wimpy Kid book, Dog Days. wimpy4dogdaysHave fun with the read-a-thon everyone!

7 Responses

  1. Excellent pile! I love it! And happy day when babysitting-like plans work out!! 😀

    No need to enter me in the contest, btw. I was just here to compliment your pile.

  2. I Love You Beth Cooper is a wonderful choice for the readathon; it’s a quick read and tons of fun.

  3. I just bought this book for my kids — they love the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” books! Otherwise I would have entered this contest!

    The read-a-thon will be so much fun, I just know it !

  4. I think this is a fantastic pile, lots of quick, engaging reads.

  5. You have a great variety–should be something for whatever mood hits you!

  6. Can’t wait for your updates – I will be checking in. Don’t drink so much coffee that you make yourself sick!

  7. great stack of books. I’m looking foward to my first read a thon!

Leave a Reply

