Sunday Salon

TSSbadge1This week was a good one for me reading wise.  I read and reviewed five books.

Betsy and Tacy Go Over the Big Hill, by Maud Hart Lovelace

The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness

College Girl, by Patricia Weitz

Love the One You’re With, by Emily Giffin

Labor Day, by Joyce Maynard

Love the One You’re With was an audiobook and the only one on the list that I didn’t particularly care for.

I have now read 3/10 of the Betsy-Tacy books for the Maud Hart Lovelace Reading Challenge.  It runs through October 31, 2009 so I am sure I won’t complete them all by that time.  I wish the challenge were longer but I still plan to read them all, hopefully by the end of the year, challenge or no challenge.

I also joined the YA Dystopian Reading Challenge over at Bart’s Bookshelf.  I have quite possibly been more excited about this challenge than any other challenge to date.  It runs through the end of the year and the goal is to read between 1-4 YA dystopian novels.  My boyfriend was working all day yesterday so I stayed in bed all day and finished up The Knife of Never Letting Go.  It was fabulous (both the book and the staying in bed part).  If you haven’t signed up for this challenge yet, I urge you to do so.

dystopia_lgeSo now this week will be spent preparing for the read-a-thon.  It’s my first one and I’m really excited and a bit indimidated too.  I’m still figuring out my TBR pile and will be adding to it throughout the week.  Plus just trying to figure out the logistics of everything.  My boyfriend’s nine year old daughter will be with us so that should be interesting.  I am hoping to lock myself in my bedroom and let him entertain her for the day, although she has turned into quite the reader so I am sure she’ll participate with me for a little bit.  Other than that, I just need to stock up on coffee and snacks!

How are you preparing for the read-a-thon?

6 Responses

  1. haha, I did a whole post on how I was preparing today! 😀

    It looks like you had an excellent week!

  2. I plan to join the Dystopian Challenge. Right now I don’t have much time to compile a list!

    Sunday Salon: Post Diwali

  3. Don’t be intimidated! Just have fun!! You’ll have plenty of people cheering you on and leaving comments and reading with you.

  4. I’ve got my reading piles, trying to figure out how to get the husband and baby out of the house for awhile, and on Thursday I’ll be going out to purchase snacks, so I have plenty of fuel for reading (some healthy, like fruit, some deliciously terrible for me).

  5. Wow – I don’t think I’ve ever had a 5 book week!!

  6. That’s quite a bit of reading this week!

    You’ll love the read-a-thon. 😀 I’ve already been stockpiling books for at least two weeks, lol, but yesterday I figured out what food I wanted and arranged for that. And since I’m a co-host, I’ve been working on cheerleading stuff. 😉

Leave a Reply

