Another Challenge!

Well, I did it.  I signed myself up for another challenge.  I can’t help myself though.  This one looks like so much fun.

dystopia_lge

It is being hosted by Darren from Bart’s Book Shelf.  Darren has also posted a pretty big list of books for inspiration.

Here is the definition for dystopia:

Dystopia (from the Greek δυσ- and τόπος, alternatively, cacotopia, kakotopia, cackotopia, or anti-utopia) is the vision of a society in which conditions of life are miserable and characterized by poverty, oppression, war, violence, disease, pollution, nuclear fallout and/or the abridgement of human rights, resulting in widespread unhappiness, suffering, and other kinds of pain. (Source: Wikipedia)

The rules are very simple.  Just choose between one and four YA dystopic novels and read them between October 15, 2009 and December 31, 2009.  Personally, I may read more than three but that’s my goal at this point.  My list is—

*The Knife of Never Letting Go, Patrick Ness (I read the first few pages on Oct 14 but I am including it anyway!)

*The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins

*Catching Fire, Suzanne Collins

I’m really enjoying The Knife of Never Letting Go, so there’s a good chance I’ll decide to read the second in that series, The Ask and the Answer.  I’ve also seen a lot of Meg Rosoff around so I’d love to read some of her books.  The Maze Runner looks good too.  And I read Uglies last year, so I may continue on with the other books in that series.

Are you joining this challenge?  If so, what are you reading?

5 Responses

  1. I loved the Uglies series! Especially Pretties. And the Hunger Games is so good! I love this challenge. 🙂

  2. Hunger Games is awesome!

    I feel like there are so many great books out there for the challenge 😀

  3. Not that you need me to tell you (as everyone else is saying it too!), but Hunger Games is absolutely amazing. By far my favorite book of the past year. Catching Fire’s also great. I was also thinking of trying The Maze Runner. One of my 9th grade students just picked it up, and I may ask to borrow it once he’s finished.

  4. Thank you for joining my challenge, hope you have a ton of fun with it!

    (No problem with starting early! Especially for a book as awesome as The Knife of Never Letting Go!)

  5. […] 27. Kathryn’s Book Nook 28. Bunny (bookosaurus rex) 29. Carrie K. (Books and Movies) 30. Stephanie (Reviews by Lola) 31. Louise 32. Amy Melniczenko (Melniczenko Musings) 33. Nany 34. Melissa 35. Dana’s Scrap […]

Leave a Reply

