BTT: Weeding

btt2

BTT is a weekly meme that you can find here.

We’re moving in a couple weeks (the first time since I was 9 years old), and I’ve been going through my library of 3000+ books, choosing the books that I could bear to part with and NOT have to pack to move. Which made me wonder…

When’s the last time you weeded out your library? Do you regularly keep it pared down to your reading essentials? Or does it blossom into something out of control the minute you turn your back, like a garden after a Spring rain?

Or do you simply not get rid of books? At all? (This would have described me for most of my life, by the way.)

And–when you DO weed out books from your collection (assuming that you do) …what do you do with them? Throw them away (gasp)? Donate them to a charity or used bookstore?  SELL them to a used bookstore? Trade them on Paperback Book Swap or some other exchange program?

I haven’t weeded through my bookshelves in a LONG time–a year at least.  When I moved a few months ago, I kept coming across books I didn’t know I had.  I felt like I was seeing some of them for the first time ever.  Who knows where they came from!

I would say 90-95% of the books I have right now I want to keep.  There are a few I could part with though.  When I do go through my books, I usually put the ones I no longer want aside to take to Half Price Books.  I also have used Paper Back Swap in the past.

The only time I’ve thrown books away is if they’re pretty severely damaged and I don’t think anyone would want them.  That happened to a few books in my basement–they had water damage and smelled of mildew.

How does everyone else handle the over-expansion of their libraries?

12 Responses

  1. I don’t handle the over-expansion of my library all that well. But I do love owning books and as soon as I have my own house they will all be displayed proudly.

  2. I don’t have too many books to weed yet…but if I do have to weed them…I will swap them

  3. Sounds like you are in good shape since most are books you want to keep. Mine is here: http://myreadingroom-crystal.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday-october-15th.html

  4. I keep giving to my nephews and nieces amongst others. And other neighbourhood chilodren. Or anyone who asks for anytghing from my collection.

    Booking Through Weeding

  5. I’m going to visit my beloved ‘old friend’ books at my Nan’s house this weekend (she’s looking after them for me while I’m in transit).

  6. Sounds a lot like me! I hardly ever want to part with them. I’ve never thoguht about taking them to Half Price Books though.. I usually go there to buy books for myself! 🙂

    Allison
    Here is mine: http://wellreadreviews.com/?p=1532

  7. I get rid of the ones that I absolutely don’t like, the ones that I rate as “Toss” in reviews. I tend to keep books that are of literary artistry.

  8. I have some in storage in boxes under my staircase.

  9. I love half price books. They opened up 2 blocks from my house. Nice and convenient and very dangerous!!!!!

    Giving up books is difficult that is for sure!
    http://booktumbling.com/2009/10/15/booking-through-thursday-3/

  10. I take a lot of books to HPB after I read them or donate them to the library. I used to post a lot more on bookmooch but those darn postal rates keep going up! yikes.

    I did a bit of a weeding of the shelves back in July but I’m going to try and do a bit more before the end of the year.

  11. Don’t you just love coming across books you forgot you owned? It’s like finding buried treasure (though whether that treasure is a bottle cap or a diamond is another thing entirely…)

    My BTT is HERE

  12. I feel the same way. I want to keep all my books, mainly for the reason that they are books! 🙂

    I’m like that too. When I finally decide that it’s time to weed out some books, I come across ones I haven’t read in a while. It’s like meeting a good friend I haven’t seen in years, and re-reading them is like having a chat over a nice cup of coffee. In the end, I always decide to keep them. 😀

Leave a Reply

