Sunday Salon

TSSbadge1I feel like I had a successful reading week this week, so that’s always good.

I read and reviewed Her Fearful Symmetry, by Audrey Niffenegger and Betsy-Tacy, by Maud Hart Lovelace.  Yesterday I finished The Help, by Kathryn Stockett and Betsy, Tacy and Tib, by Maud Hart Lovelace.  Hopefully I’ll be reviewing those two later today or tomorrow.

The two Betsy Tacy books counted towards the Maud Hart Lovelace reading challenge running over at A Library is a Hospital for the Mind’s blog.  It runs through this month and while the first four books of the series are all very quick reads, the latter six will likely take longer to read, so I highly doubt I will be finishing all ten books before the end of the month.  We’ll see how far I get.

3875294813_c8fc5b006a_o

On audiobook, I am currently listening to Love the One You’re With, by Emily Giffin.  I’m almost 2/3 of the way through but I’m not enjoying it all that much.  I usually stay away from chick lit, although I used to be a big fan and I loved Giffin’s first two books Something Borrowed and Something Blue.  The narration is very smooth but sickly sweet.  I will definitely be finishing it, but the review will probably not be too generous.

I also got a great amount of books this week, the vast majority having been sent by publishers.  Make sure to check out my Mailbox Monday post tomorrow to see all the goodies I got.

I’m currently reading Labor Day, by Joyce Maynard, which I got from Bookswim.  I’m a big fan of Maynard (if you haven’t read At Home in the World, I strongly urge you to do so!) so I’m loving it so far.  I woke up in the middle of the night last night and read a chapter or two.  After that, I have no idea what is up next.  So many books to choose from!

How was your week? Anyone read anything good?

3 Responses

  1. Hi!
    I have a couple of books from your list that are on my TBR list. The Help and Her Fearful Symmetry. Thanks for stopping by my place, Just Books. I have been wanting to read One Thousand White Women but have never got around to it, hopefully I’ll get it done during Dewey’s Read-A-Thon. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  2. You’ve had a great week. I loved The Help!

  3. I read Nibble & Kuhn this week.

Leave a Reply

