Mailbox Monday

images

Mailbox Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Marcia over at The Printed Page.

I got quite a few books this week, although very few of them arrived in my mailbox.

The first batch was from Barnes & Noble, with the exception of Her Fearful Symmetry, which arrived from Amazon.

IMG00007-20091004-2043

I Love You Beth Cooper, Larry Doyle

The Year of Magical Thinking, Joan Didion

Day After Night, Anita Diamant

Her Fearful Symmetry, Audrey Niffenegger

Then my mom picked out the books chosen below for me at a garage sale–don’t mind Fiona!

IMG00005-20091004-2040

Charms for the Easy Life, Kaye Gibbons

A Mercy, Toni Morrison

Bridge of Sighs, Richard Russo

The Color Purple, Alice Walker

Like Water for Chocolate, Laura Esquivel

The Fugitive Wife, Peter C Brown

American Pastoral, Philip Roth

The Given Day, Dennis Lehane

And the last two arrived from Bookswim

IMG00008-20091004-2046Labor Day, Joyce Maynard

The Stone Gods, Jeanette Winterson

Anyone else get anything good in their mailbox this week?

15 Responses

  1. You did get quite a haul! I need to give your mom my address!

  2. Wow, you’ve got the best mom , lol.

    I can’t wait to get my hands on Her Fearful Symmetry.

    Happy reading 🙂

  3. Wow — lotsa reading ahead. I have Her Fearful Symmetry too (from last wee) & am really looking forward to reading it. Enjoy you rbooks!

  4. Great mailbox. How nice that your mom picks books out for you at garage sales. No one seems to want to add much to my “little book problem.” LOL!

  5. Great books! Someone else listed Bridge of Sighs this week. Russo is one of my fav authors. I liked his latest more than BoS but it was still good. Hope you enjoy all your books : )

  6. Your mom is a good shopper! Great mailbox! Enjoy!

  7. Wow – what a great week – and so many great titles! We haven’t been to a garage sale in so long, and I forgot that you can find some really great books there. 🙂

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  8. Oooh, enjoy “Her Fearful Symmetry!”

  9. Not nearly as many as you… but I still got myself a few 🙂

    Here’s my Mailbox Monday

  10. WOW! Now that’s what I call a good week for acquiring books. 🙂 I have heard that Joan Didion is wonderful, but I haven’t read any of her work yet. I am a fan of The Time Traveler’s Wife, so I am curious about Her Fearful Symmetry. The Color Purple is amazing — I read it in high school. And Like Water for Chocolate was terrific — a fun read.

  11. your mom is the best! Sheesh, I never find good stuff like that at garage sales. Happy reading.

  12. You’ve got a quite a few there that I’d like to read. Hope you enjoy! I’ll be checking back for your reviews.

  13. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on I Love You Beth Cooper. I enjoyed that book so much.

  14. That’s a lot of books – yay! I hope you’ll love Like Water for Chocolate. I read that years ago but thought it was wonderful. You got some other books that are on my wish list.

Leave a Reply

