Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon

6a00d8341c9ac653ef01156f3381c7970c-120wiI am super excited to have signed up for Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-Thon in three weeks.  I’ve marked my calendar–October 24 and I’ve already looked up my starting time, which will be 9AM.  For those of you not familiar with the read-a-thon, you can find the website here.  I haven’t decided if I’ll be reading for charity.  I’ll probably pass this time for two reasons.  The first reason is it’s my first time, so I’d kind of like to feel it out before committing to a charity.  And also I have no money, so that doesn’t help!

Because I’m so excited for the read-a-thon, I have already started preparing.  My boyfriend and I will have his daughter that weekend, so he has already been warned that I will be out of commission.  Hopefully he can find something fun for the two of them to do together.  Plus, we have a Halloween party that night.  I kid you not, I told him I wasn’t going.  He thinks it’s crazy and comical but I think he’s a little disappointed that he’ll have to go by himself.  I can’t help it though–I’ve been looking forward to the read-a-thon so I am not bowing out for anything.

I am not delusional enough to think that I will read for 24 hours straight.  No one is more of a slave to sleep than I am.  I should be able to make the 9am start time but staying up past midnight Saturday night will probably not happen.  However, I figure that I will just slip in naps here and there when I get tired so we’ll see.  And of course, caffeine addict that I am, I will be drinking coffee like it is going out of style.

I have started to compile my list of books a bit.  Whenever I get a book that I am really excited about, I throw it on the pile.  It gets me that much more excited about the read-a-thon.  At this point, my pile includes:

An Abundance of Katherines, John Greene

The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire, Suzanne Collins

I Love You Beth Cooper, Larry Doyle

The Year of Magical Thinking, Joan Didion

I will undoubtedly add more books between now and Oct 24, but that’s where the pile stands now.

Anyone else as excited as I am?  What do you plan to read during the read-a-thon?

16 Responses

  1. I think I might be joining the Read-a-thon as well, but I haven’t participated before so it is a little daunting! I read ‘The Year of Magical Thinking’ earlier this year and loved it, hope you do too!

  2. We’ll be out of town 😦 It’s parent’s weekend at my daughter’s college. Guess I’ll have to wait until spring.

  3. I’m still trying to decide between cheerleading and reading.

  4. I’m looking forward to the read-a-thon too! You’ll have fun! It will be my second time. I have a few books I need to finish up, so what I read during the read-a-thon will depend on how much has been finished by then.

  5. I’m very excited about the Read-a-thon! I haven’t really started a pile yet though. My parents are coming to visit in a week and a half for my wedding, so they’re bringing me lots of accumulated ARCs and my own books, and I want to have all my options in front of me when I begin to choose! That said, I think The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, and the King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner are constituting my unofficial pile right now. They’re short and I’ve heard they’re amazing! I’m also hoping to get the rest of the Sookie Stackhouse books from the library in the next few weeks, so I can read them too.

  6. The Read-a-thon is a lot of fun. Glad you signed up. I hope I’ll be able to join- October is a crazy month for me.

  7. I might try cheerleading since I can’t ditch out on our Halloween party that night. It’s apparently the most coveted invite in the neighborhood and since my hubby is looking for a new job, he’s looking at it as a great networking thing. Gack! Oh, and since this is our first year of being invited, turning it down would be social death (ask me if I care?!).

  8. I wish you luck on the 24hr Read-A-Thon.
    I am doing a reading group, but not for 24hrs.
    It’s more like 3 months.
    You may want to visit and check it out.
    It’s over at: http://callapidderdays.com/
    There are prizes/Giveaways etc.
    Joyful

  9. The read-a-thon is so much fun! I’ve attempted it twice and I think the most hours I read was 9. Unfortunately I won’t be able to participate this time around. bummer. But looking forward to hearing all about it anyway! 🙂 Hope you have tons of fun.

  10. I’m looking forward to ‘meeting’ you during the read-a-thon! I have been working myself up to it since April… LOL I didn’t dare participate then, but now I do! And I really like the fun of putting my pile of books together 🙂 Almost done with that!

  11. The Hunger Games is an EXCELLENT Readathon book! It kept me up in the 3-7am hours. 😀

    I might nap a bit this year, too. I’m not a caffeine person, and last time I did a bad thing by drinking caffeine at about 1 in the morning. I got all yucky feeling and then I couldn’t sleep at 7 even t hough I was so tired. This year – no caffeine.

  12. I loved The Year of Magical Thinking. I read it on an airplane several years ago and found myself openly crying in public and not caring. Enjoy it!

    I’ve got The Hunger Games set aside for the Read-a-thon too!

  13. THE HUNGER GAMES and CATCHING FIRE will be *perfect* Readathon books, good choices.

  14. Oooh An Abundance of Katherines (in my pants) 😛 Been meaning to read some John Green for a while but never got around to it. I’ll have to check on you and see how you like it. Anyway, Good Luck!

  15. Nice list — You should probably start with the Didion book, when your brain and eyes are fresh.

  16. great list! Now I want to add all yours to my list! LOL

Leave a Reply

