Teaser Tuesday: American Wife

teasertuesdays31Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser this week is from

wife

Oh, how different my life would have been had I not grown up in the same house as my grandmother, how much narrower and blander!  She was the reason I was a reader, and being a reader was what made me most myself; it had given me the gifts of curiosity and and sympathy, an awareness of the world as an odd and vibrant contradictions.  And would I have married Charlie if not for my grandmother? Surely not . . .

19 Responses

  1. Aw, this is sweet and timely for me as I’ve been reflecting on the same thing. Great quote.

  2. Great teaser…I’ve been thinking of reading this book.

  3. Nice tease! Here’s mine – a different kind of American wife from the 19th C. Here’s my tease: Teaser Tuesday: The Texicans

  4. I read this book over the summer and had mixed feelings about the plot, but Curtis Sittenfeld’s writing is really beautiful! I love the passage about living in the Midwest. I actually dogeared that page! GASP!

    Great tease! =)

  5. Awesome Tease and I am adding this to my growing TBR list. Mine is here: http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/09/puzzle-king-teaser-tuesdays.html

  6. Great tease! I loved this book!

  7. I’ve been thinking about adding this to my TBR list. Thanks for the teaser…think you may have convinced me to add it to the list! 🙂

  8. This quote rings near and ear to my heart, because I would not have started reading had it not been for my grandma ❤ Three cheers for Grandmas everywhere! 😀

    My teaser is up at Find the Time to Read

  9. I really liked this teaser!

  10. What a great teaser – this is one of those books I’ve really wanted to read. 🙂

    Here’s my Teaser! ~ Wendi

  11. Indeed. I think the only thing as good as being a traveller for perspective, is being a reader.

  12. I see a lot of it in the book blogs. Will check it out.

    Teaser Tuesdays: The Sister Pact by Cami Checketts

  13. Oh, this sounds good! I loved “Prep”, but haven’t picked this one up yet. Thanks for the teaser!

  14. Sound like one smart granny.

  15. Good teaser!

    My teaser is posted HERE.

  16. Great tease, I have this one already on my buy list.

  17. Great teaser! I read this one a while ago and really enjoyed it

  18. Love that quote. I think there’s always that one connection you have that opens up something about the world to you. For me it’s my uncle. Really great teaser – I identified with it, and now I want to read the book!

    You can check mine out here.

  19. What an influence her grandmother was! Great teaser.. very beautifully said.

    Allison
    Well-Read Reviews

Leave a Reply

