Sunday Salon

TSSbadge1This week has been insanely busy.  BBAW was hectic but SO much fun, plus I finished moving this week, so I guess I haven’t had as much time to read as I would prefer.  I did, however, win two books in a game of euchre last night.  My boyfriend and my friend’s husband played against my friend and me and when the two men lost the first game, I won a trip to the bookstore and my friend won a trip to the craft store! (Unfortunately, the guys prevailed after that so now I have to cook my boyfriend dinner every night for a week).  So even though I had to have absolutely everything out of my house by today, I was still able to make it to the bookstore.  I had promised my boyfriend that it would just take five minutes as I knew exactly what I wanted.  Lo and behold, I was right.  And here is what I came away with:

abundance

Chasing Fire by Suzanne Collins

hunger

girlwhoplayed

the_girl_with_the_dragon_tattoo.large

The last two are the ones purchased by my boyfriend.  The other three I bought with a giftcard I had to Barnes & Noble.  As you can see, I finally relented to the craziness that is The Hunger Games/Catching Fire.

My day started off to a wonderful note when I woke up to discover that my blog had been awarded its first ever award.  JoAnn from Lakeside Musing had taken notice of my blog during BBAW and awarded me this:

fabulousblogaward2

Thank you so much JoAnn.  I am very honored that you thought of me and that you’ve enjoyed my blog.  It means a lot!

As for my weekly Sunday Salon feature, rip4short

I read “The July Ghost” this week, by AS Byatt.  It was the story of a man who rents an attic from a middle aged woman.  He begins noticing a young, blonde haired boy loitering in the yard, around ten years of age.  After a few days, he mentions to the landlady that the boy keeps entering the yard.  It is then that she tells him that her son was killed two years before when he ran into the street and was hit by a car.  She surmises that her sons friends may still be hanging around but when the man describes to her the childs features and clothing, she immediately becomes convinced that it is her son.  She begs the man to report to her every time he sees the boy, which is often, and as time goes on, the woman gets more and more distraught.  The man eventually convinces himself that the boy wants him to impregnate the woman so that she has another child to love and is not so caught up in the little boy.  Unfortunately, the plan doesn’t work out and the man and woman decide it would be best for the man to find other lodgings.

It was a strange, but heartbreaking story.  The woman was so desolate and she really had no type of support system.  She attempted to be infallible from the grief but eventually succumbed to it.  I have never before read anything by AS Byatt but have been meaning to for awhile now, so this story was a nice introduction to a well known author.

Happy Sunday Salon everyone!

PS Make sure to watch my blog for the next few days because I’ll be having my very first giveaway soon!

4 Responses

  1. I’ve read all of those except The Girl that Played with Fire. And I’m sure it won’t be long before I go and buy that one. I just finished Dragon Tattoo…I liked it, but it’s a very different style of book for me.

  2. Glad you decided to read The Hunger Games! I’m sure you won’t regret it! 🙂

  3. You won’t regret spending your giftcard on Suzanne Collins!

  4. I have only read the two Hunger Games books, but they are totally worth it! I am planning on reading the Stieg Larsson ones myself. I look forward to seeing what you think!

Leave a Reply

