Weekly Geeks: Burnt Out

WG Book Pile URL_thumb[3]This past week wrapped up Book Blogger Appreciation Week, in which I’m sure many of you participated. In two weeks will be Banned Books Week, in which I’m sure some of you also will participate. I’m also sure that many of you participated, and will participate, with at least a post per day, if not more, on your respective blogs.

Personally, after such weeks, I feel almost burnt out and think, “Why am I doing this? I’m not getting paid for this.” Do you ever feel the same way after weeks like the ones mentioned above? If you do, what do you to counter it? How do you keep going? Do you take a break from posts after that, or do you just “soldier on”?

Or if you don’t feel burnt out after such weeks, why not? Also why are you a book blogger? From what I’ve seen and experienced, it’s certainly not the fame or the glory that you get. So what is it? Why? Why? Why?

I would say I’m the opposite of burnt out.  BBAW was such a fun and action packed week and now that its over, it’s like . . . what now?  I absolutely loved posting once, or even a few times, a day.  Of course that’s not as feasible in normal weeks, so I’m kind of feeling sad now that things will be back to normal.  Of course there is a lot more fun in store–there always is in the book blogging world.  I’ll be doing the Fall Into Reading challenge as well as wrapping up the RIP IV challenge.  Dewie’s 24 hour read-a-thon is next month (can you tell I’m dying of anticipation over here!!) plus banned book week, so there’s always something on the horizon to look forward to.

As for why I’m doing this, obviously its not for the fame and glory, as pointed out. Reading is one of my passions, if not my biggest passion, so sharing that with others is such a joy.  I’m sure there are times when I will get burnt out–I assume every blogger goes through that at some point or another, but so far I’ve had nothing but great experiences and I hope to keep that up.

7 Responses

  1. I’m with you Lola. With so much fun, I just want more fun. I posted here.

  2. There is definitely plenty of stuff out there to get involved in. But these yearly events are very special!

  3. It was fun, wasn’t it? It was my first, and I’m still amazed at all the love and enthusiasm.

  4. Good post Lola. It is pretty energising in some ways – but at the same time I was stretched to get everything done on time. One of the benefits is the stimulation, the new ideas, the contact with other bloggers.

  5. Good Post…lol I can’t wait till Banned Book Week…LOL I have never participated in it but I think its cool and I want to post about some banned books!!! HE HE HE

  6. So much more to participate in the next few months – there’s isn’t enough time to blog and read! 🙂

  7. I’m really looking forward to the Readathon!

Leave a Reply

