Library Loot: Audio Books

library-loot Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

I’ve never participated in Library Loot before.  The reason is simple; I haven’t had a library card.  Really, I have no reason to go the the library because I have so many books waiting for me at home.  Adding more books to the endless TBR pile is just not a good idea.  However, as I was getting ready to clean this morning, my thoughts agains lipped to the idea of audiobooks.  I’ve never listened to audiobooks before (except on long car rides when my dad would force the whole family to listen to whatever book he happened to have on tape) and I’m not sure I have the concentration for them, but I decided all of a sudden that I should give audiobooks a shot.  So I weedled my boyfriend until he agreed to miss the beginning of the football game and we went to the local library.  I came home with three audiobooks, so I guess now I should get to my chores!

200px-EstherFrued_HideousKinky

9780061124297

9781416534778_house7gables

5 Responses

  1. I love the library for audio books! I can listen to books while I’m at work and it’s a great way to pass the day. But I don’t want to buy the books on CD. Sadly, I think I’m starting to run out of books I want to read at my library. Oh what a sad day that will be!

  2. Hi Stephanie,
    Your blog is one of my favorite ‘new discoveries’. I have an award for you..
    http://lakesidemusing.blogspot.com/2009/09/tss-sigh-of-relief-and-some-awards.html

  3. I just discovered your blog by reading Joann’s post (link above). I am so glad that she led me here!

    I am just now getting into audio books, and am anxious to see if they have helped you accomplish those chores (if so, then I definitely am in need of several audiobooks!)

    I have read We Need to Talk about Kevin, and while I found it disturbing in more ways than one, I really enjoyed it. I also have Hawthorne’s book of short stories sitting on my shelf waiting patiently for me to find the time to read one or two.

    I look forward to following your posts in the future.

  4. Welcome to Library Loot!

    I do like to borrow audio books from the library myself, although usually I borrow actual books. I have heard very good things about Shriver. I think that reading classics by listening to them is a good way to go as well.

    Lisa, I can’t imagine running out of books I want to read from my library!

  5. Welcome to Library Loot! 🙂 I think libraries are a great source for audiobooks (which I love).

    I have The House of Seven Gables on audiobook, and if it’s read by the same narrator it’s pretty awesome! Of course, I’m a Hawthorne fan. 😉

    I like the library because I don’t have to commit money to books I’m not sure if I’ll love or not!

Leave a Reply

