Weekly Geeks: Choosing Your Books

WG Book Pile URL_thumb[3]It’s hard to believe we’re approaching the last quarter of 2009. Soon those of us in the northern hemisphere will be curled up in front of the fire (or solar heater) with our favorite wintry reads, and those in the southern will be off to the beaches with their summer books.

Do you have a plan of what you’re going to read the rest of the year? Have you had a master plan all along? If so, have you stuck to it? What helps you to decide what you’re going to read next? Challenges? Book groups? Or do you have the luxury of closing your eyes and picking any book off your shelf?

I know some of you have spreadsheets and other devices to help you keep track of your books and challenges. (I even succumbed to using a spreadsheet this year after teasing my friends relentlessly about theirs.) If you have online spreadsheets, such as Google, can you give us a peek at them with a link or a screen shot?
I’ll admit, I’m not at spreadsheet status yet.  I’m too disorganized for that.  I feel like I rarely ever get the chance to just pull a book off my shelf though, which is too bad because I would say I probably haven’t even read half the books I own.  ARCs are what I usually go for first.  I feel an obligation to read those in a timely manner, especially those that I requested.  Also, since I pay a monthly fee for Bookswim, I attempt to read those as quickly as I can so I can send them back and receive a new batch, thus getting my moneys worth.  I am also in two book clubs, although I will admit I do not read the book if I’m not interested.  I used to force myself, but I have so many freaking books to read that I finally had to put a stop to that.  I’ll still go to book club and enjoy myself, and by now the guilt at not reading the book has waned.

Another source for choosing my books is the challenges I am in.  Right now I am only participating in the RIP IV and the 999 book challenge, but I try to fulfill those when I get a chance.  So when I do get a chance to read a book for either of those challenges, sometimes that involves a book on my shelves that I already own.  Other than that, my books stay unread.  Sad, isn’t it?  I will admit though, I have been good about not buying books recently.  I do have a B&N giftcard beckoning though, so I will probably be misbehaving soon!

What about you?  How do you choose your next book?

6 Responses

  1. I simply stand in front of my huge TBR pile and pick the book that beckons me. Rather the books choses me, not I.

    Weekly Geeks: Planned reading and Spreadsheets

  2. I try to read ARC’s as close to the publication date as I can, so I can review them when they come out. I have so many books to read though that I don’t seem to get to them all in as timely a manner as I’d like. A spreadsheet wouldn’t help that, just the ability to no longer need sleep so I could read all night while everyone else sleeps would fix that! Short of that miracle, I’ll keep plugging along and try to get caught up someday. Of course it would help if there could be a worldwide moratorium on authors writing new books for a couple of years!

  3. I’m finding that the presence of ARCs and requested review books is changing my reading habits quite a bit. I used to just read what caught my fancy. Now, I’m reading these new books first.

    I’ve got to say though, they do have one big benefit. I’m expanding my reading range quite a bit with these new books.

  4. You sound a bit as if you are in my boat Lola – you have a few “outside” forces that determine what you read. It’s nice to be a bit rebellious sometimes though.

  5. I get easily distracted by shiny things, so my reading is haphazard.
    Happy Weekly Geeks 🙂

  6. I can’t afford to go wild at a book store right now. I’m relying on my own massive TBR pile, my library and books I get through BookCrossing. My post is here.

Leave a Reply

