RIP Challenge: My List

rip4300Ok, I have a free minute today so I figured I’d go through my books and compile my TBR selection for the RIP challenge.  The challenge officially started September 1, and I chose to participate in Peril II.  There’s a possibility I may read more than two of the books on my list before October 31 but I didn’t want to overload myself, so I’m just going to play it by ear.  I am also participating in the Short Story Peril.  Last summer, I got two large anthologies of scary stories, which I haven’t touched.  I figured I would read between one and three stories a week from one or both anthologies and then highlight those short stories in my Sunday salon posts.  So from tomorrow through the last Sunday in October, be sure to check out my Sunday Salon for that feature.  The two anthologies are:

Mistresses of the Dark: 25 Macabre Tales by Master Storytellers (I couldn’t find an image of this book but it includes stories by Margaret Atwood, Doris Lessing and Louise Erdrich)

and

t1076

For my book pile, I am adding

midnightcover

physick-book0345337662_01_LZZZZZZZ6a00c225290bfe604a00fad6b0ba6b0005-500pi9781416534778_house7gables

hauntinghillhouse0703-binyon-book I may also throw in some Edgar Allen Poe.  Plus, if I can get my hands on Her Fearful Symmetry, that will be a contender as well.

2 Responses

  1. Great books! I’ve long wanted to read House of the Seven Gables, The Woman in White, and The Haunting of Hill House. This year I’m focused mostly on my own stacks for the RIP challenge, but I’m feeling an itch to get these from the library anyway.

  2. Thank you so much for your comment on my blog.

    I have read “The House of the Seven Gables” but it has been a LONG time. I have not read “The Woman in White”, but I some of my friends have and they really enjoyed it. If you like it, you should definitely check out Collins’ other masterpiece, “The Moonstone”!

Leave a Reply

