Sunday Salon

TSSbadge1So . . . my first Sunday salon post.  Just minutes ago, I finished Plague of Doves, by Louise Erdrich.  It was a runner-up for the Pulitzer this year, and after reading it I’m not surprised.  It was a lot to digest though–I’m hoping to post my review of it tomorrow but it’s one of those books that requires a lot of reflection.  I’m not quite sure what to make of it.  I read it on my Amazon Kindle–it was the first book in awhile that I’ve read on my Kindle, so it was nice to get back in the swing of things in that regard.

Next I’ll be reading Sacred Hearts, by Sarah Dunant.  As I posted on Friday, it’s my first ARC, so I’m super excited.  I figured it should be next on my list, since the publisher was so nice to send it to me.

My boyfriend and I spent quite awhile perusing Barnes & Noble yesterday.  Surprisingly, I came away with nothing.  I considered picking up The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, by Stiegthe_girl_with_the_dragon_tattoo.large Larsson, but in the end I knew I already had it in my pool on Bookswim, so I decided to save my $15.  Plus, I just kept reminding myself that I have so many books I have yet to read already waiting for me at home.  For once I had self control!  Usually I am a big sucker for the bargain tables at B&N, but this time nothing really caught my eye,  In a way, I suppose that was good too.  I’m very inclined to buy a book at a cheap price, only to decide later on that I’m not really interested.

My boyfriend, however, was much more successful.  He bought four books: The Neon Bible, by John Kennedy Toole, World War Z, by Max Brooks, The Catcher in the Rye, by JD Salinger and Treasure Island, by Robert Louis Stevenson.  The first and last are books that I haven’t read yet and am interested in though, so I will benefit from his purchases.

2 Responses

  1. That’s incredible self control. I can’t leave a bookstore or library without coming out with at least one book. 🙂

    However these past few opportunities I haven’t gotten anything. There was just nothing there. 🙂

  2. I’m interested in what you have to say about The Girl With the Dragon tattoo. I have it in my bookswim pool (which I joined, thank to you!) too. My mom liked it, so I’m looking forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

