Weekly Geeks: week of August 22, 2009

WG Book Pile URL_thumb[3]I think just about every reader has a least one book that they’ve been meaning to read for awhile (months or even years) but, for one reason or another, they just haven’t gotten around to it. Maybe it’s a book a friend recommended last year, or a title you’ve flirted with in a bookstore on more than one occasion, or maybe it’s a book that’s sitting right there on your bookshelf, patiently waiting for you to pick it up — but the thought is always there, in the back of your mind: Why haven’t I read this yet?

This week, tell us about a book (or books) you have been meaning to read. What is it? How long have you wanted to read it? And, why haven’t you read it yet?

pevear_karenina
Considering my TBR pile is hundreds of books long, there are numerous books that I could mention in this post.  The one book I have that I really want to read and seems to be glaring at me from my shelves is Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy.  It’s not only that it’s one of those books I feel that I just HAVE to read (although that is a factor)–I also really anticipate that it’s a book I’ll enjoy.  One of the biggest issues in regards to why I haven’t read it is it’s size.  I can be sort of put off by large books.  Sometimes the time and effort is more than I’m willing to spare.   Plus books that heavy are such a pain to prop up and hold in the bathtub or in bed, which is why I downloaded Anna Karenina onto my Amazon Kindle.  Therefore, I am checking one of the reasons for not reading it off my list.  I promise, it will happen soon!  Maybe reading this book should be one of my New Year’s resolutions for 2010.

10 Responses

  1. I haven’t read Anna Karenina either. Happy WG.

  2. You will have to tell me how you like it. I read a good portion of this book when I was a freshman in high school, and I remember enjoying it, but I know I didn’t finish it – something I’m attributing to age and the fact that ADD is a natural state for high school freshman.

    My post is here: http://eclectcentric.blogspot.com/2009/08/weekly-geeks-its-about-time.html

  3. Anna Karenina’s not on my ‘mean-to-read’ list but some books just make me tired looking at them.
    Happy Weekly Geeks 🙂

  4. I read it long time back. A book well worth it!

    Weekly Geeks: Why haven’t I read it yet?

  5. This one is also on my TBR list. I like Tolstoy and have no idea why I haven’t read Anna Karenina yet.

  6. I read this book a while ago. While it was worthwhile, I didn’t really love it. I can’t really pinpoint why either. Sorry, not a very helpful post!

  7. Oops, I meant to say “Not a very helpful comment.”

  8. I haven’t read this yet either but feel I should. It just seems a bit daunting – but then again I managed War and Peace!

  9. I would love to read this too, but haven’t yet

  10. Oh, I loved this book! I read it with a group and I think that helped me at least. Not everyone else was as keen on it as I was.

    There were definitely some slow parts though.

Leave a Reply

