For fun!

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback?

I tend to stay away from hardback because of the weight of the book as well as the price.  I will always go for the cheapest version of a book.

Bookmark or dog-ear?

Bookmark.  I never dog ear.

Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random?

A select few of my books are grouped by subject matter.  The others are grouped by author but are not in any type of order.

Keep, throw away or sell?

Keep, unless it’s a book I don’t enjoy, at which time I’ll either sell it or give it away.

Keep dust jacket or toss it?

Most of the time I’ll remove it while I’m reading, but other than that, I keep them.

Last book you bought?

I went to Barnes and Noble two weeks ago and bought three books.

The Hour I First Believed, by Wally Lamb, for myself

Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy O’Toole, for my boyfriend, although it’s one of my favorite books and my last copy was never returned by a co-worker who I lent it to and who, subsequently, no longer works with me.

The World According to Garp, John Irving, also for my boyfriend, but I’ve wanted to read it for awhile, so I figured I was killing two birds with one stone.

Last book someone bought for you?

Last Christmas most likely.

What are some of the books on your to-buy list?

I have a list that is currently five pages long of books I don’t have that I want to read, but I won’t buy many of them.  I tend to go into bookstores without a specific book in mind, and just browse the sale tables.

Collection (short stories, same author) or anthology (short stories, different author)?

I like the change of pace that an anthology offers.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?

I’ve only read the first three Harry Potter books (and that was years ago!) and none of Lemony Snicket, so I can’t really say.

Morning reading, afternoon reading, or nighttime reading?

I always read in the morning when I wake up.  If it’s a work day, I only have 20-30 minutes, but on a weekend, I could be in bed for up to an hour after I wake up reading with my morning cup of coffee.  I also read at night before bed.  I try to get in bed at least a half an hour early so that I’ll have time to read.

The books you need to go with other books on your shelves?

I am always open to classics and I rarely ever sell them when I’m done or give them away.  At the moment, I know I need more Dickens, Jessica Mitford and Joyce Carol Oates.

Do you read anywhere and anytime you can or do you have a set reading time and/or place?

A lot of the time I will carry a book with me in the event that I have some spare time to read.  Generally though, I do the majority of my reading at home, either in the bath, in bed, or on the couch.

Do you have seasonal reading habits?

Sometimes I am more inclined to go with lighter reads in the summer.  I also have a penchant for scary books around Halloween.

Do you read one book at a time or do you have two or more books going at once?

I rarely ever read more than one book at once.  I like to be able to focus solely on one book at a time instead of flipping back and forth between numerous books.

What are your pet peeves about the way people treat books?

I don’t really mind how others treat their books.  I don’t even so much mind how others treat my books—I care more that I receive my books back.  There’s nothing worse than having one of your books borrowed and never returned.

Name one book you surprised yourself by liking.

I was surprised that I enjoyed The Crimson Petal and the White, by Michael Faber, as much as I did.  It is one of my favorite books from this year, but I was skeptical about the sheer length of it, coupled with the fact that many reviews about the book had some harsh words about the ending.  I think that, especially when a book is that long, readers want some type of closure by the time they finish a book, and that wasn’t necessarily the case with The Crimson Petal, but in my opinion, the ending added to the general mystique of the book.

How often do you read a book and not review it on your blog? What are your reasons for not blogging about a book?

So far, in the past two years that I’ve blogged, I’ve reviewed every single book I’ve read.  I like having my reviews for my own reference, because a few months after finishing a book, it’s never as fresh in my mind as when I first finished it and blogged about it.  I can think of a book or two that I just couldn’t get into and, because I barely started it, in that case I generally wouldn’t review it, but that would be the only situation where I wouldn’t blog about a book.


What about your book and reading habits?  Come on, share!

Leave a Reply

