My Custom Van

P9781439153536 My Custom Van . . . And Fifty-Two Other Mind-Blowing Essays That Will Blow Your Mind All Over Your Face

By Michael Ian Black

There is something about Michael Ian Black that I find insanely humerous.  He is one of my favorite commentators on VH1’s Best Week Ever (now defunct) and I Love the . . . series.  The deadpan way in which he delivers his barbs has me in giggles every time.  For that reason, I was beyond excited to read his book My Custom Van . . . And 52 Other Mind Blowing Essays That Will Blow Your Mind All Over Your Face. Admittedly, I am a huge fan of books by Chelsea Handler and Tucker Max, to name a few, so I knew instantly this book would be right up my alley; I am happy to say that it lived up to my expectations.

The book begins with a forward by Abraham Lincoln, which set the entire tone.  Apparently, President Lincoln, although dead for over a century, is quite a big fan of Michael Ian Black.  Upon hearing Michael Ian Black over the radio for the first time, President Lincoln states that “My boy Robert found him irksome, calling him an ‘egregious specimen’ and ‘a rapscallion’, but one of us was president, and one of us was not, so I leave it to the reader to determine who between us had the better sense of humor.”  From that point on, Black had my full attention.

From that point on, My Custom Van went on to provide us with such humdingers as “Using the Socratic Method to Determine What it Would Take For Me to Voluntarily Eat Dog Shit for the Rest of My Life” and “Announcing the Imminent Arrival of the Handlebar Mustache Certain People Said I’d Never be Able to Grow”.   I read the entire book during a four hour car trip, so it is definitely a quick read, and I had fun laughing with my boyfriend over some of the excerpts, since he had just finished the book the day before.  He kept looking over to see which story I was on, and then would proceed to tell me that it was one of his favorites.  This happened at least ten times!

My Custom Van would be a great beach read or a great palate cleanser if you’re burnt out on other books or just finished an especially tedious tome.

Leave a Reply

