Interesting meme

I feel kind of silly that I have yet to post a review yet on this blog, since that is seemingly the whole purpose, but I’m still slogging through Wally Lamb’s I Know This Much is True.  It’s a great book, but pretty long, which is what the hold up is.  I’m hoping to have it finished by the end of the weekend.

In the meantime, I came across this fun book survey, so I figured I’d give it a shot.

1) What author do you own the most books by?
Jane Austen and Joyce Carol Oates I would guess.

2) What book do you own the most copies of?
I generally don’t own more than one copy of a book.  Sometimes it happens by accident, in which case I’ll find someone to take the extra off my hands.  I do have a few anthologies as well, such as one with some Jane austen novels, but sometimes I’ll buy the books separately as well.

3) Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
I don’t like it, but I’ll move on.

4) What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
Rhett Butler.  So cliche, I know.

5) What book have you read the most times in your life (excluding picture books read to children)?
Helter Skelter

6) What was your favourite book when you were ten years old?

Any baby-sitters club book.

7) What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
Fast Food Nation was one I expected to love but instead I was bored to tears.

8) What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
There have been quite a few great books so far this year.  I’ve read some great Joyce Carol Oates books, which really got me on her bandwagon.

9) If you could force everyone you know to read one book, what would it be?
Confederacy of Dunces.

10) Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for Literature?
Oh wow.  Not sure I can say.

11) What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES!!!  I can’t figure out why it never came to fruition.  I’m still holding my breath!

12) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?

I think Jane Austen’s books, at least Pride and Prejudice and Emma, have had enough adaptions and I think there’s no need for any more.

13) Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
Nothing I can recall at this moment.

14) What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
Probably the Shopaholic series, by Sophie Kinsella.  or the Gossip Girl series.

15) What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?

Atlas Shrugged, by Ayn Rand.  Just the sheer size of it, for starters.

16) What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?
I wouldn’t call any of the ones I’ve seen obscure.

17) Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
Probably Russians

18) Roth or Updike?
Updike.

19) David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
David Sedaris.

20) Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
I’m going to go with shakespeare, although I enjoy Chaucer as well.

21) Austen or Eliot?
Austen

22) What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
There are many gaps.  The only Dicken’s I’ve read is A Tale of Two Cities, which I really didn’t enjoy.  I’ve also meant to read more Hemingway, Joyce and Faulkner

23) What is your favourite novel?
I really can’t choose just one.  Tess of the d’Urbervilles, Emma, Confederacy of Dunces

24) Play?
The Crucible

25) Poem

“From the Shepard to his Love”, Christopher Marlowe

26) Essay?
I can’t say that I have one.

27) Short story?
I really enjoy Nathaniel Hawthorne’s short stories, as well as Edgar Allen Poe’s.

28) Work of nonfiction?
Helter Skelter

29) Who is your favourite writer?
I have a few.  Nancy Mitford, Jane Austen, Joyce Carol Oates . . . those are the ones that spring to mind at the moment.

30) Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
Probably Stephenie Meyer.  Although I haven’t read any of her books, so maybe I shouldn’t comment.

31) What is your desert island book?
Gone with the Wind.  It’s so long that it would keep me occupied for awhile.

32) And what are you reading right now?
The Hour I First Believed

Leave a Reply

