Booking Through Thursday

btt2 What’s the worst book you’ve read recently?
(I figure it’s easier than asking your all-time worst, because, well, it’s recent!)

I’ve been lucky recently in the sense that I haven’t read any books in the past few months that I absolutely loathed.  There were a few that I was apathetic towards.  The Monster of Florence, by Douglas Preston and Mario Spezi, is a recent one that left me bored.  I was thrilled when I finished it, which is never a good sign.  It was one of those books that I expected to enjoy immensely–it’s the story of a modern day serial killer in Italy who only kills couples having sex.  While the culprit has never been identified, Spezi and Preston did a good job of uncovering a valid suspect.  There were also political issues going on with the law enforcement of the area, which could have been fascinating.  Unfortunately, the book fell flat for me and Iprobably would not recommend it. 

florence

 

Another book that did not live up to my expectations was Fast Food Nation, by Eric Schlosser.  Again, I expected to love it, due mostly to its popularity.  There were a few tidbits that I found very interesting, such as the assertion that you’re better off eating carrot out of the toilet that out of the kitchen sink.  A shock factor of that magnitude will always grab my attention.  However, surprising bits like that one were few and far between.

 

fast20food20nation

One Response

  1. I totally agree with you about both of these books. They fell flat for me as well!

Leave a Reply

