999 books challenge

I’ve decided to participate in the 999 books challenge on LibraryThing.  It looks like a lot of fun and it will be a good way to have some sort of guidelines in choosing what I read.  Here is my list so far–I will be sure to update it as I go.

I. Joyce Carol Oates
1.Wild Nights!
2. The Barrens
3. My Sister, My Love
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.

II. Historical Fiction
1. The Crimson Petal and the White, Michael Faber
2. The Last Town on Earth, Thomas Mullens
3. The Lady and the Unicorn, Tracy Chevalier
4. Falling Angels, Tracy Chevalier
5. The Girl with the Pearl Earring, Tracy Chevalier
6. Katherine, Anya Seton
7. Dragonfly in Amber, Diana Gabaldon
8.
9.

III. Non-fiction
1. Prozac Nation, Elizabeth Wurtzel
2. Guilty, Ann Coulter
3. The Big Necessity, Rose George
4. Dead Center, Shiya Ribowsky
5. Henry and June, Anais Nin
6. The Heroin Diaries, Nikki Sixx
7. Into the Tunnel, Gotz Aly
8. The Romanovs: The Final Chapter, Robert Massie
9. Fast Food Nation, Eric Schlosser

IV. Authors new to me
1. House of Meetings, Martin Amis
2. Disquiet, Julia Leigh
3. Shakespeare’s Wife, Germaine Greer
4. Rosemary’s Baby, Ira Levin
5. The Plot Against America, Philip Roth
6. Wetlands, Charlotte Roche
7.
8.
9.

V. Fiction
1. Belle de Jour, Joseph Kessel
2. To Die For, Joyce Maynard
3. Lighthousekeeping, Jeanette Winterson
4. The Invention of Morel, Adolfo Bioy Cesares
5. I am Legend, Richard Matheson
6. Divisadero, Michael Ondaatje
7. A Long Way Down, Nick Hornby
8.
9.

VI. Classics
1. The Journal of the Plague Year, Daniel Defoe
2. Brideshead Revisited, Evelyn Waugh
3. Summer Crossing, Truman Capote
4. The Crucible, Arthur Miller
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.

VII. Books from my TBR pile
1. Grace Had an English Heart, Jessica Mitford
2. Driving with Dead People, Monica Holloway
3. The Hour I First Believed, Wally Lamb
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.

VIII. Humerous/laugh out loud books
1. Things my Girlfriend and I Have Argued About, Mil Millington
2. The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death, Laurie Notaro
3. Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy Toole
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.

IX. Books written within the last five years
1. The Abstinence Teacher, Tom Perrotta
2. Matrimony, Josh Henkin
3. A Thousand Splendid Suns, Khaled Hosseini
4. In the Woods, Tana French
5. So Long at the Fair, Christina Schwarz
6. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Jonathan Safran Foer
7. Keeping the House, Ellen Baker
8. Loose Girl, Kerry Cohen
9. The Monster of Florence, Mario Spezi and Douglas Preston

This challenge lasts the entire year, so I still have a few months left to fill in the blanks.  The majority of the books on my list could belong in multiple categories, but for the sake of not having any repeats, I have chosen one category only for each book.  It’s funny to see where I’ve been lacking during the year–I need to really crack down on my TBR pile, for instance!

Leave a Reply

