Book Review: Delirium

Delirium

Lauren Oliver

Harper Collins

480 pages

I love you.  Remember.  They cannot take it.

I don’t want to review this book.  I seriously want to just spend this entire post just gushing about how much I loved it. It was one of those books where I just finished it and didn’t know what to do with myself.  So I went ahead and pre ordered the next book, Pandemonium, on Amazon.  What other choice did I have?  Now I must wait until March to get my next fix!

Delirium is the first in a trilogy that portrays the US as a dystopian society that has banned love.  Every person must have a neurological surgery once they turn eighteen in order to ensure that they are no longer capable of feeling love towards anyone or anything.  Unfortunately, there is always a risk of contracting the disease for your eighteenth birthday, and due to medical complications, it’s not safe to perform the surgery before you’re an adult.

Lena has 95 days until surgery.  She cannot wait.  Her mother had the surgery three times, none of which were successful, and she instead committed suicide.  Her mother’s legacy has always been a stigma for Lena and she can’t bear the thought of turning out like her mother, so she counts down the days until she will be safe from the disease.  She has one last summer to spend with her best friend Hana.

Guess what happens next? Lena meets a boy, Alex, and falls in love.  Did you see that one coming? All people who have been cured have an inverted triangle tattooed by their ear, which Alex has, so Lena feels safe around him, knowing that he is safe and cannot fall in love with her.  Except it turns out that Alex is masquerading as cured.  He actually hasn’t had the surgery.  He is a resistor.

I have read quite a few reviews of Delirium that lament that it moves too slowly (most of these reviews were admittedly on Amazon).  I will agree that it doesn’t move quite as fast as some other dystopian YA I have read, but in the end that doesn’t matter, because it impacted me more than any of those books.  Once I got into the story, I couldn’t put it down.  The love affair between Alex and Lena was so tangible and I was deeply touched by it, despite the fact that they are only teenagers.

If you haven’t read this one yet, I urge you to pick it up ASAP. Unless you want to wait until March.  Because once you finish Delirium, you will want to move on to Pandemonium immediately.

Other Reviews:

Book Journey

Good Books & Good Wine

Rhapsody in Books

S Krishna’s Books

Presenting Lenore

Erin Reads

I purchased this book from Target.

23 Responses

  1. I was just telling another blogger that I really need to read Lauren Olivier asap!

  2. I haven’t read this one, but I’m intrigued by the concept of doing away with love.

    Thanks for sharing….

  3. It was good wasnt it? I am waiting for the second book as well… I was thinking it was out already…. guess I was wrong! :)

  4. I loved this book. Rhapsody Jill and I read it together and then gushed together. And I have Pandemonium at my fingertips, but haven’t read it yet because I can’t review it until next spring. Why I am making myself suffer is really a good question. Many parts of the story were predictable, but Oliver is just such a good writer and is so easy to read. (Have you read Before I Fall? Because if not, then you must.)

  5. [...] Reviews by Lola by reviewsbylola – “Book Review: Delirium“ [...]

  6. I loved, loved, loved this book! I can not wait for Pandemonium. The ending had me shocked and so frustrated that I had to wait until March! Great review.

  7. I just got this book, and am so excited to read it! I have heard such good things about it and have heard that the ending leaves its readers wanting more! So, so glad that you had such a great time with it. Hopefully I will get the chance to read it before the sequel comes out! Great review today!

  8. I really love Lauren Oliver. No matter if the plot may be predictable in parts, she manages to work magic with it!

  9. [...] the rest here: Book Review: Delirium « ReviewsbyLola's Blog This entry was posted in Books and tagged Books, entire, how-much, seriously-want. Bookmark the [...]

  10. I loved this one – I can’t wait for Pandemonium! I need to know what happens next.

  11. I can see why you like the book. Hope you like the next one too.

  12. I’ve had this on my TBR shelf (alright..shelves) for a while now, but it’s fallen to the wayside in that too many books, not enough time sort of way.

  13. I have been wondering whether to read this – I like YA dystopian, but I thought Before I Fall was just okay. Guess I should give this a try!

  14. I dunno… I think I will wait for your review of Pandemonium in March. Really? I just need to concentrate on my goal of reading all the Harry Potters.

  15. I think I’ll give this a try. I’ve read nothing but positive reviews for this.

  16. Banning love sounds horrible, but the book sounds fascinating!

  17. I have been curious about this book for a while, but still haven’t picked it up. One day!

  18. I am going to pick this up ASAP. {Have you read Matched? Sorry to ask if you have the review posted somewhere, I just found your blog this morning!}

  19. [...] reviews: Reviews by Lola, Escape in a Book, The Infinite Shelf Rate this: Share this:EmailLike this:Like2 bloggers like [...]

  20. [...] review –> There’s a Book Stephanie’s review –> Reviews by Lola Christina’s review –> YA [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

