It’s That Time of Year

It seems as if everyone is sick, myself included! This is my second day stuck in bed.  I have a horrible cough and my throat is swollen and achy.  I used to think that it would be nice to be sick in bed.  Not too sick, obviously, but sick enough where I had no choice but to lounge about and read.  If only that were the case! Yesterday I read for no more than an hour.  I just wasn’t feeling it.  I think part of the problem is the book I am reading.  Which sounds bad, because it’s really not the book’s fault! I am reading The Marriage Plot and don’t get me wrong, I am loving it, but I think in this state I am in, I need something a little lighter.  Maybe some YA.  I want to give The Marriage Plot my full attention and I am just afraid I can’t do that while I am sick.  I think another issue is that Eugenides publishes books so infrequently that I am almost scared to read this one because then it will be over. So I am not sure where my reading will lead me today.  I hope I don’t spend the entire day watching TV though like I did yesterday!

Do you have a hard time reading when you are sick? Do you tend to read quicker, “easier” books when you’re sick?

17 Responses

  1. Oh, I am so sorry to hear you are sick! It stinks to be too sick to read! I have times when I am sick and can read, but then, at other times, I feel too bad to even look at a book. I like to read lighter and more frothy things when I am ill and have trouble paying attention to books where there is a lot going on. I think that you need to take a break from the heavier stuff and go for something a little simpler and more gripping. Feel better over there, you hear?

  2. I’m so sorry you’re sick! :(

  3. Yuck! Feel better! I so know what you mean about needing some ‘sick’ reading — when I feel gross, I have a hard time concentrating — I usually pick a fluffier, tawdry historical or a YA — something that doesn’t require focus, that I can dip in and out of between napping.

  4. A couple weeks ago I was trying to finish Doc before the library book got yanked back to the interwebs. I had a chronic headache the whole week I was trying to read it, and when I had a full blown migraine, I took it as a sign to just stop trying to read the book, at least on that borrow period. I don’t know how much of my dislike of it was due to the headache (only got through 200 pages in 4-5 days), or if it really wasn’t the book for me.

    I don’t really get sick that way very often. I usually have migraines for my sickness spells, so its not a very long time. I’ve not thought about it, but I can see how something lighter, or your comfort genre could be better when sick

  5. I hope you feel better. I hate when I’m too sick to read. Then I feel like my days are wasted. Maybe try something lighter. I can’t wait to read The Marriage Plot as well.

  6. I hope you feel better soon! I think lighter books are necessary when you’re not feeling good and can’t concentrate. I tend to fall asleep with a book in my hand when I’m sick or stare at the tv like a zombie.

  7. Sorry your sick! Usually when I am sick I like to watch tv or movies, maybe read a magazine. Books seem like too much work!

  8. I hate it when sickness doesn’t translate into more reading time! Sometimes my eyes burn too badly to see the words. I hope you feel better soon, and find something light to pass the time.

  9. Oh no! I’m so sorry you’re sick! I totally recommemd saving The Marriage Plot for when you feel much better. It’s hard to focus and concentrate when you’re sick, at least I find that & I can only read light, entertaining books when I’m sick.

    When I was in school and then working I used to think how great a few sick days would be, just a sore throat & cold, figuring I could read, have some tea etc. But then when I got sick it was never as good as my fantasy!

    I hope you’re feeling better already, Stephanie.
    Hang in there & try to enjoy your days of forced rest a little bit :o)

  10. My husband and I have both been “slightly sick” for two weeks now. It stinks! I’d almost rather fall apart for a few days than be draggy and sniffly for weeks. I need lighter reads when I’m sick … and sometimes it is just too much to read at all. I hope you feel better soon.

  11. Argh hope you’re feeling better! I think when I try to read when I am sick, I definitely need something lighter… I don’t have the attention span or the energy to read something deep and meaningful…

  12. I’m sorry to hear that your sick, and hope you get better soon. I’m suffering with my sinuses at the moment myself. I always find my reading drops off when I’m ill because often I just can’t face thinking which book tend to force me to do. So either I pick easier reads…or I cop out compeltely and watch some mindless television instead :-(

  13. I definitely read only light books when I’m sick. And any TV I watch is also trashy. Good times. :-)

  14. And get well soon!

  15. I’m sick too with the same kind of cold! Let’s feel sorry for each other.

    I did read yesterday while I was stuck in bed. But I definitely had to go with a lighter book. I finished the last 100 exciting pages of Cathedral by Nelson DeMille. Then fell asleep or two hours.

    When I was a kid, I loved staying home sick — I think my mom must have been very lenient about the definition of sick. Now, being sick just means my work/chores/hobbies are stacking up unfinished, I really do feel awful, and I just want it to end.

  16. [...] may remember my post from just a few days ago about how sick I am.  Well, I’m still sick.  I had to work yesterday and today though, so I [...]

  17. :-( Get well soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

