Teaser Tuesday: The Elegance of the Hedgehog

teasertuesdays31 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser this week comes from The Elegance of the Hedgehog, by Muriel Barbery.

Personally, I think that grammar is a way to attain beauty.  When you speak, or read, or write, you can tell if what you’ve said or read or written is a fine sentence.  You can recognize a well-turned phrase or an elegant style.  But when you are applying the rules of grammar skillfully, you ascend to another level of the beauty of language.  When you use grammar, you peel back the layers, to see how it is all put together, see it quite naked, in a way.

17 Responses

  1. Loved this book and loved this quote!

  2. I also love this book! Nice tease. Here’s my teaser

  3. I love this teaser! Can’t tell you how long this book has been on my wish list, but I really must read it soon.

  4. What an intriguing description of grammar!

    Love the title, too.

    My teaser:

    http://laurel-rain-snow.blogspot.com/2009/12/teaser-tuesdays.html

  5. Pretty quote and I like the cover.
    Great teaser!
    Here’s mine.

  6. Excellent teaser! Good grammar is so important.

    Here’s my teaser. It’s about the history of the Triads and it’s posted at my brand new website!

  7. I loved the book and that is a great pick as a teaser. Thank you for the reminder!

  8. I have heard so much about this one! Definately on my TBR pile.

    Here’s mine:

    http://bookblabbing.blogspot.com/2009/12/teaser-tuesday_08.html

  9. Thant is such a great quote! Makes me want to read it. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Wow that was just beautiful, can’t wait to read it, on my TBR list.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

